My Geeky Mummy Social Media Challenge – Converting the world, one mummy at a time

As a geeky stay at home mummy I love Social Media (i.e. Facebook, Twitter etc). There is no doubt that it has added real value to my life and rather a lot of fun as well – for which I am very grateful. However, I think it can do better. Put simply, it needs to work harder at encouraging ordinary folk who are perhaps not in the industry to take the plunge and join the social media revolution.

Right now for me, my social circle is quite heavily biased towards parents, and let’s be frank, mostly mummies. Some are right there with me, which is great. But really, to meet social media utopia, I need everyone to join in.

Facebook is great when it comes to organising an event. You can send out invites and discuss where to go on the event wall. Perfect. In reality, there are always a few that people who aren’t on Facebook, and then there are a few more that are, but very rarely use it. So, you still end up having to send an emails and text messages just to ensure you include everyone.

And it isn’t just Facebook. Oh no. With the recent purchase of my new phone (HTC Desire), I want to play Foursquare. In the UK and outside of London, it seems there aren’t many incentives being offered by local businesses. Dominoes Pizza is the only exception – read New Media Age’s feature on what you can get for free.

So, as part of my grand master plan to get everyone I know addicted to using social media. I am also hoping that by spreading the word and getting more people using Social Media it will also encourage local businesses to start offering their special deals for followers, fans and mayors (becoming Mayor is a Foursquare reward for frequent check-ins!).

So if you are reading this and haven’t yet discovered Facebook, Twitter, Foursquare, Google Calendar or Springpad (my current favourites), please give them a go.

If you know me, next time you see me I would be happy to show you how. If I don’t know you, I still want to help you (I can be contacted via this Blog, Twitter or the Geeky Mummy Facebook Page – facebook.com/GeekyMummy). Anything to increase the number of people that use these services.

I want social media to become as popular and second nature as using email and having a mobile phone. Yes, I do know mummies that don’t even use email or have a mobile phone, they are a whole other challenge (in the nicest possible way).

Are you resisting social media? Have you helped convert a sceptic? Have you got any tips as to how I can be successful in my personal challenge?

Related Blog Post – Read about how Facebook saved me time in Social Media Success – Facebook status update reveals shoe buying secret

About Geeky Mummy
I am a geeky stay at home mummy. My blog Geeky Mummy shares my experiences and tips for using gadgets, technology and social media with a definite parenting bias. If you want help (whether or not you are a mummy) with anything gadgetty or technical, I want to help or at least point you in the right direction towards someone who can.

Leave a Reply

