The Worst Gift Ever – Time

I knew before we had kids that time would become precious. I didn’t fully appreciate that having two children would make us completely time bankrupt.

Not only do I not have time to do the things I want to do like blog more, add Twitter to my Facebook page, read etc. But I also don’t have a need for creating elaborate excuses as to why I haven’t done the things I don’t want to do like tidy the house, washing, accounts etc.

Sometimes I get so behind that even I am desperate to find a spare 5 mins when I can tidy even just a little bit.

At times like these the words ‘I wish I could have more time’ are on the tip of my tongue.

However despite the evils my little chore master is currently giving me, I would refuse the granting of said wish.

I am time poor because of my lovely children. Yes, there are days when I am up to my neck in poo, sick and tantrums but mostly I am enjoying the wonders of parenthood that already seems to be hurtling away from me at concord speed.

There is plenty of time for free time during my twilight years when I shall surely be wishing I was back to being too busy.

So, thank you Mr Genie but I will pass your bottle without a seconds thought as I am forever grateful that I don’t have lots of free time. Being busy is a reflection of my very full life and I wouldn’t want it any other way.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

About Geeky Mummy
I am a geeky stay at home mummy. My blog Geeky Mummy shares my experiences and tips for using gadgets, technology and social media with a definite parenting bias. If you want help (whether or not you are a mummy) with anything gadgetty or technical, I want to help or at least point you in the right direction towards someone who can.

13 Responses to The Worst Gift Ever – Time

  1. Mamafour says:

    Hmmm, I think actually I’d rather like a bit more time – as long as it was in the manner of bending the time/space continuum and allowing me actual extra hours in the day, rather than freeing up what I already have. Or else a big fat PAUSE button to allow me to stop everyone else growing up while my back is turned…

    • Geeky Mummy says:

      Yes, that would be very good. I would quite like the ability to not need sleep. Unfortunately I need my 8 hours, that’s a lot of wasted time. But, it would probably only be of benefit if I was the only one to have the ability to not need sleep, otherwise other people would find ways to add to my todo list much as they do today.

  2. I was only thinking the same thing this week, on a rare child-free day when I suddenly had some time and everything seemed to slow. I wanted to write a blog about it but it was too sunny and obviously since then I’ve been back ‘on duty’ and so haven’t had time.

  3. Pingback: Twitter – Choosing Who To Follow & To Stay Following « Geeky Mummy

  4. Michelloui says:

    I agree with this post 100 percent. There’ll be plenty of time when they’re older to clean the house or update facebook thingies. The best gift you can give your children is your time, so you;re obviously doing it right! Another phrase I have always avoided regarding children is ‘why won’t you just grow up!?’ Even in my most angriest I don’t say that. I don’t want to rush anything–and run out of time with them.

  5. beingmekirrily says:

    Hello, I found you via Michell Twin Mummy’s blog 🙂 Concord speed, right you are. I seem to have blinked and almost missed my daughter’s past 4 years and yet still I sometimes take for granted that this lack of ‘me time’ is how I always wanted it. Funny that!

    • Geeky Mummy says:

      Hi, thanks for dropping by and commenting. It only gets worse, Geeky Daughter is 6 and is now so grown up and independent that I wonder if she’ll even need me in a few years. Fortunately she is still my baby at heart and loves cuddles with her mummy and Peppa Pig is still her favourite TV so she won’t be moving out just yet, but it is still oh so scary as to how quickly the years are flying by.

  6. What a wonderful persepctive. You are so right, we are time poor as we have our little angels. Thansk for the reminder. Mich x

  7. Mid 30s Life says:

    Well said!

    The phrase “too much time on their hands” comes to mind. That’s along the lines of what I tell myself when I look around this bomb-site of a house.

    • Geeky Mummy says:

      Ha ha, you are right.

      Trying, to train 6 year old to help out, and she does love to help, but I guess a few house elves would be the best solution or a lottery win so I can have a house keeper. Until then we will live in a bombsite whilst we play and make the most of the kids childhood.

Leave a Reply

