My First Twitter Chat

Last night I participated in my first ever Twitter chat and had a thoroughly good time.

For those that don’t know, a Twitter chat is a timed event that anyone can join to discuss a particular topic. You use a particular hashtag to ensure everyone can easily pick out the Twitter chat tweets.

I participated using Tweetdeck on my HTC Desire mobile. It was really easy to set-up a column to follow the hashtag.

Tweeting on my mobile is really easy but it annoyingly took ages for my text entry to learn to auto complete the hashtag. Tweetdeck if you are listening, would be great if you could add a Twitter Chat feature whereby hashtags are auto added to tweets if replying to a hashtag column.

I was a little uncertain as to how I would cope, lots of people, all tweeting at once. And, just to increase the difficulty, I had to get a reluctant 6 year old off to bed part way through.

Fortunately there seemed to be only about four or five people on the chat and that made it a lot easier.

I found myself really getting into the swing of it, though the subject matter was a good one for me – buggys. Great opportunity to have a moan about rain covers and get on one of my favourite soap boxes – the importance of rear facing buggys.

Granted, this was a chat aimed at promoting the Quinny Zapp Xtra, but mostly we discussed what is important in a buggy and what we think of all makes.

In addition to making me want to upgrade my Zapp to a Zapp Xtra, which I guess was the downside (from a financial point of view), I also found some new people to follow and discovered that there is a lightweight version of the Shade-a-Babe called the SnoozeShade that I am told has better sun protection. Yes, my geekyness isn’t restricted to electrical gadgets.

So for me, I can’t wait for the next one. Would especially like one on toys, but almost any subject will do me.

If you fancy reading the tweets from last night, check out #quinnycasters.

Have you participated in a Twitter Chat? Did you find it difficult following the conversation? Does anyone know how I can get my hands on a free Quinny Zapp Xtra?

About Geeky Mummy
I am a geeky stay at home mummy. My blog Geeky Mummy shares my experiences and tips for using gadgets, technology and social media with a definite parenting bias. If you want help (whether or not you are a mummy) with anything gadgetty or technical, I want to help or at least point you in the right direction towards someone who can.

4 Responses to My First Twitter Chat

  1. *sticks fingers in ears and shouts la la la!!!* Resisting the urge to join the Twitter community. Must…. resist…. need…. more…. time…. to….blog…… Seriously, though great post. Off to take a little sneaky look at this Twittery thing now. Just out of curiosity you understand…

    • Geeky Mummy says:

      Go for it. It is a must for Bloggers as you can use it to promote your blog – incidently I couldn’t get yours to load. Just remember it isn’t the same as Facebook, the idea is to keep your tweets public and you are not connecting with friends but strangers (that can become friends) and the occasional celebrity. Don’t be afriad to reply to other people’s tweets, that is the name of the game and is the only way you will get followers. Just tweeting about yourself and asking questions is not going to get you anywhere, you have to give before you recieve. Good luck and when you do don’t forget to follow @GKMummy (that’s me)

  2. Emma says:

    Ooo I’m a quinnycaster! Keep your eye out to see if they do the same as what they are doing now again when theyve finished with us. Graco also do a pram trial thing every now and again too! 🙂

    • Geeky Mummy says:

      You lucky thing. Geeky Son won’t be in buggy much longer hopefully. He turns one soon and is already walking though not outside. I weaned Geeky Daughter off the buggy around 18 months getting rid of it completely at 2 and hopefully will be able to with him as well – so hopefully everyday use will start to disappear in about 6 months.

Leave a Reply

