Twitter – Choosing Who To Follow & To Stay Following

Following (no pun intended) @nickie72‘s blog post it made me realise that people must have different reasons as to why they follow people on Twitter.

I am not saying that my way is right, but it works for me.

My Geeky way of choosing who to follow is based entirely on whether or not I am interested in their tweets. Yes it would be lovely to have them follow me back, and even better if they actually tweeted me, but those are added bonuses rather than a requirement of my following.

For this reason, whilst I do try to check my new followers every so often, I don’t auto follow back.

I usually find new followers by:

  1. Conversation – if they aren’t a spammer and genuinely tweet with me, I will usually follow back
  2. Recommendation – if one of the people I follow retweets a tweet of theirs or a blog post I really enjoy reading, then I also usually follow.

However, I never ever follow without first reading their bio and checking out their latest tweets.

If I don’t follow back it’s often because I am very time poor and don’t get around to it, or something in their bio or timeline puts me off. But I do revisit.

This works for me as I don’t track how I am doing. I don’t track my follow count and I don’t use unfollow apps. So if someone stops following me I won’t notice and I won’t unfollow them. I am still at the ooohhh, I got a mention stage in my Twitter life, so I also don’t get upset when people don’t respond. But even once I have reached Twitter stardom, I really hope I manage to keep my feet on the ground. I don’t read every tweet, so how can I expect other people to do so. Yes, Twitter tools do let you know when you have been mentioned, but they are notorious for not working 100% of the time. But even if someone does read my tweet, there can be many more reasons as to why they don’t reply.

Maybe that sounds foolish but if you remember, I don’t follow to be polite, I follow in the hope that I am going to read some great things, that doesn’t change just because that person no longer follows me or because they haven’t answered my twitter question.

Maybe when I have some Klout then I will join in with the stress of worrying about those apparently important numbers, but until then, I will continue to enjoy Twitter as a great source of useful info, links and chatter without too much obsession.

And in case you do want to follow me, be careful to pick the right Geeky Mummy, there are a few of us out there. I am @GKMummy.

About Geeky Mummy
I am a geeky stay at home mummy. My blog Geeky Mummy shares my experiences and tips for using gadgets, technology and social media with a definite parenting bias. If you want help (whether or not you are a mummy) with anything gadgetty or technical, I want to help or at least point you in the right direction towards someone who can.

4 Responses to Twitter – Choosing Who To Follow & To Stay Following

  1. I have no idea who unfollows me or who is not following me. I just do not have the time to get involved in that. Like you I check people’s bios and tweets and will then follow.

    Mich x

  2. Thanks for the linkback 🙂

    English Mum made a really good point on my blog yesterday when she compared Twitter to Real Life. We meet loads of people every day but dont’ assume that we are going to be lifelong friends with them. I wasn’t going to mention this on my own blog but I’ve been called out before by someone who also has a link with me on Facebook. I’ve ended up putting them on limited profile over there and just ignoring them on Twitter (blocking seems a tad extreme). It can all get a bit intense at times – not what I buy into.

    • Geeky Mummy says:

      I think some people must lose sight of that. There is no rule that says that people must engage in conversations and stay following for that very reason, everyone is different.
      I am just not sure it is healthy to keep such a close eye on people who stop following you – which I believe was the root of the issue – as it clearly can end in conflict.

Leave a Reply

