Why I Am Proud My 6 Year Old Loves Pink

I have just read a really interesting feature on Ready for Ten that questions the trend for gender bias of books and criticizing the tendency for books and toys to be colour coded.

Six years of parenting makes me no expert, but from my observations no amount of gender neutral upbringing can counteract the fact that boys and girls are different.

So I actually have the opposing view. I think it’s great that there is such a great choice of very girly books and toys. I want my girl to be as proud as I am that she is a girl.

My Geeky yet girly approach has been to buy gender stereotypical colours where possible, for example I was over the moon when I discovered that Lego had finally bought out a pink box of proper Lego.

That said, pink is Geeky Daughter’s second favourite colour after blue, her favourite toys are her dinosaurs and she loves Horrid Henry in addition of course to the pink sparkly fairy books and toys.

About Geeky Mummy
I am a geeky stay at home mummy. My blog Geeky Mummy shares my experiences and tips for using gadgets, technology and social media with a definite parenting bias. If you want help (whether or not you are a mummy) with anything gadgetty or technical, I want to help or at least point you in the right direction towards someone who can.

3 Responses to Why I Am Proud My 6 Year Old Loves Pink

  1. Pingback: Gender-Specific Toy Debate: Cars for boys & Dolls for girls? | The Real Supermum Blog

  2. Emma says:

    That’s so sweet and such a great view on it. I sat and thought about getting Oli a pram for Christmas but got hima little shopping trolley instead. I didnt need to prove anything by getting him a pram he can decide if he wants that kind of think when he’s older. For now he can stick to his motorbike and cars.

    • Geeky Mummy says:

      Exactly. Some boys do like ‘girls’ toys and vice versa. Nothing wrong with that. But equally I see nothing wrong with opting for boy or girl versions.

      If Geeky Son wants a toy pram, I will get him one, though probably in blue. But, it would not be my first choice, I would be more likely to buy, like you, a trolley or a wheelbarrow or something.

Leave a Reply

