Personalised Nursery Rhymes

Mymumdom recently posted about her hubby changing the words of Wind The Bobbin Up for nappy changes. It made me laugh because I do this all the time. So I thought I’d share with you my personalised songs:

For sleeps we use the theme for Twinkle Twinkle Little Star:

Twinkle twinkle little star
Look how tired that you are
Close your eyes and go to sleep
If you need to count some sheep
Twinkle twinkle little star
Look how tired that you are

For teeth cleaning we use Here We Go Round The Mulbery Bush:

This is the way we clean our teeth
Clean our teeth
Clean our teeth
This is the way we clean our teeth
To make them nice and clean

Got to do it twice a day
Twice a day
Twice a day
Got to do it twice a day
First thing and last thing at night

This next one is a use anytime song that I perhaps overused after Geeky Son was born and now Geeky Daughter hates it. It is based on What Shall We do with the Drunken Sailor:

What shall we do with the grumpy **
What shall we do with the grumpy **
What shall we do with the grumpy **
Early in the morning

Hugs and kisses and lots of cuddles
Hugs and kisses and lots of cuddles
Hugs and kisses and lots of cuddles
To make him feel much better

I would replace ** with his name, and vary the grumpy to tired, lovely or whatever took our fancy and sometimes use loving instead of cuddles.

I also have changed 10 Green Bottles Hanging On A Wall to 10 Dirty Bottles Waiting To Be Washed,  for doing the washing up and many more that would turn this into a very long post.

So what do you think? Did I miss my calling in life as a song writer? Do you also change the words to songs? Would love to hear from you.

About Geeky Mummy
I am a geeky stay at home mummy. My blog Geeky Mummy shares my experiences and tips for using gadgets, technology and social media with a definite parenting bias. If you want help (whether or not you are a mummy) with anything gadgetty or technical, I want to help or at least point you in the right direction towards someone who can.

8 Responses to Personalised Nursery Rhymes

  1. how lovely. I made my own ones up – silly tunes and words came into my head. My daughters favourite is ‘Fresh bottomed bunnies’ which is of course a nappy changing one…!

  2. seasiderinthecity says:

    Ha – we change words all the time but can’t tink of any at the moment!

    Caught Jacob singing yesterday though
    Baa baa blue sheep, have you any cheese?
    No sir, no sir it makes me sneeze!

    New one on me!

  3. Geek mummy says:

    Whilst reading this post I realised I was also unconsciously singing “The washing in the machine goes round and round” to my baby! So yes, I do it all the time!

  4. Jacq says:

    Awww cute!
    Mine also like making up (even) more verses to Row Row your boat.
    Some get a little ‘odd’!

    • Geeky Mummy says:

      Thanks. Yes, it seems to have rubbed off on 6 year old too, she also makes up her own words are does a really good job too making the words fit with tune and getting them to rhyme – sometimes.

Leave a Reply

